Government of Saskatchewan
Saturday, June 24, 2017
Publications Centre
Publications Centre
MY Account | View Cart





Product List
  Time Will Say Nothing
In April,2006, Canadian-Iranian philosopher Ramin Jahanbegloo was waiting at the airport in Tehran for a flight to Brussels. He had arrived early, knowing he would be double-checked by security, something that had become almost routine for him. But on this day the routine was broken and missing his flight became the least of his worries. Jahanbegloo was arrested and detained in solitary confinement in Iran’s infamous Evin Prison. Sorbonne-educated and an author of almost thirty books, he was a prominent promoter of intercultural dialogue, and a philosopher of non-violence in the tradition of Tolstoy and Gandhi. He was hardly someone to pose a threat to a country’s security. Yet, the Iranian authorities accused him of spying. A petition against his imprisonment was initiated, with Umberto Eco, Jürgen Habermas and Noam Chomsky among the signatories. International organizations and human rights groups joined in; the media reported the case extensively. Without ever being officially charged, Jahanbegloo was finally released in August of that year